Creativity and Industry

In today’s lecture we talked about what to consider when choosing your career. Below is a brainstorm of some factors to consider:

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 4.58.53 pm

There are a number of factors to consider when choosing a career. By considering all these factors, you can make a well-informed and realistic decision and you’re also more likely to make the right choice too.

What do you have to offer? What does the organisation has to offer you? What does the organisation expect/ demand of you? What do you expect from the organisation? These are all valid and important questions to ask yourself before making any decision.

To follow on, you’ve got steps to manage your career successfully. If you don’t know what you want to do as a career, this can help guide you towards a decision. You’ve got to consider a lot of things when choosing a career:

Self-Awareness (Interests, likes, strengths, values.)

  • What do I like?
  • What am I good at?
  • What kind of job would I like?
  • Who do I want to be?
  • What’s important to me?
  • Can I move country /interstate /overseas?

Exploration (Research. What’s out there?)

  • What’s it like?
  • What do employers want?
  • How does the labour market work?
  • Who doe the job I like?

Decide (Evaluate. What’s my goal?)

  • Short-term/ long-term goals
  • Informed decisions
  • Based on my research of what I want and what’s out there

Do (Action Plan steps)

  • Choosing a course
  • Work experiences
  • Self marketing strategy to get to my goal

Moving onto self-expert. What’s your passion/ purpose and career? Firstly you must identify your unique strengths; what do I react to? I can’t look to others for this, I must trust myself. I’ve got to make connections between experiences, and observe, and write about them. How do I make decisions? Do I observe the relationship between my values and passions? Do I reflect on past experience?

A simple example; what’s my favourite food? Steak and mash potatoes. But now I have to consider the reasons why I chose this as my favourite food/ meal. I love the combination of the two flavours and textures together. I find it also fills me up as I’m having both carbohydrates and meat. I mostly love the fact that it’s juicy and easy to eat – with a knife and fork. And so you begin to learn so much more about yourself when you break down simple decisions.

Now you’ve got skills:

  • Employability Skills – that apply across a variety of jobs and life contexts
  • Personal Skills – the individual attributes you have such as personality and work habits
  • Technical Skills – the specialized skills and knowledge required to perform specific duties

Core skills for work are:

  • Communication
  • Information technology (work in a digital world)
  • Problem solving (plan and organize, make decisions)
  • Improving own learning
  • Working with others (interact/connect and work with others)

Your next steps would be:

  • Your job search strategy/ exploring
  • Application
  • Career documentation
    • Resume
    • CV
    • Cover letters
    • Interview
Leave a Reply

